Top NZ Young Vits prepare for the 2018 National Final of Bayer Young Viticulturist of the Year Competition

After a few weeks of competitions, the respective winners for each region participating in the Bayer Young Viticulturist of the Year are now preparing for the National Final where they will battle it out to win the overall title of Bayer Young Viticulturist of the Year 2018.

The competition will take place on August 27 2018 at Palliser Estate in Wairarapa, the first time the National Final has ever been held in this region.

There will be six Young Vits (under 30 years) representing six winegrowing regions from top to toe of New Zealand.

This year sees the first ever national finalist representing Northland and also the first from Waipara.

The national finalists for each region are:

  • Auckland/Northern – Jake Dromgool, The Landing
  • Hawke’s Bay –  Jono Hunt, Delegats
  • Wairarapa – Scott Lanceley, Te Kairanga
  • Marlborough – Ben Richards, Indevin
  • Waipara –  Zoe Marychurch
  • Central Otago – Annabel Bulk, Felton Road.


They will be tested on all aspects of vineyard management, both practical and theoretical.

The contestants will then give a speech at the Bragato conference in Wellington later in the week and the winner will be announced at the Bragato Conference dinner on August 30.

National co-ordinator Nicky Grandorge, said the competition is set to be an exciting one, with six knowledgeable and skilled young viticulturists.

“They have been studying hard and are all very determined to take out the 2018 title,” Grandorge said.

As well as becoming the Bayer Young Viticulturist of the Year 2018, the winner takes home a prize package which includes a Hyundai Kona for a year, an AGMARDT Travel Grant, $2000 cash, a Leadership week, Riedel glassware from Winejobsonline and Bahco golden secateurs.