Daily Wine News

««« return to Daily Wine News index


Tim Adams takes major award at International Riesling Challenge

Brilliant South Australian winemaker Tim Adams has won the Best Riesling Award for his 2006 Riesling, at the seventh annual Hyatt International Riesling Challenge in Canberra.

Produced in the Clare Valley, using only the best 500 litres per tonne of grapes, Adams has produced a stunning wine, judged as the stand-out of a record 458 entries from across Australia and the world. Tim Adams accepted the award at a gala dinner at Canberra’s Hyatt Hotel.

“The Challenge is now a truly international competition with over 100 wines from Europe and a growing number from North America,” said Chairman of Judges, Louisa Rose from Yalumba. “The gold and trophy winning wines are truly world class. Their makers should be very proud of their achievement.”

Tim Adams walks away from the 2006 Riesling Challenge with the major trophy and two Qantas flights to Germany for a five night stay at the Hyatt Hotel Mainz in the Rhineland. The Tim Adams 2006 Riesling also won the Australian Capital Tourism Award for Best Current Vintage.

The other major award, the Wolf Blass Award, was presented to leading Canberra region winemaker, Ken Helm, for his contribution to the development and promotion of Riesling. Helm is chair/founder of the Riesling Challenge, now the biggest competition of its type in the Southern Hemisphere.

Other trophy winners in the 2006 Hyatt International Riesling Challenge are:

ActewAGL Award for Best Museum Class – St Helga 2002 Eden Valley Riesling

Audi Australia Award for Best Open Class – St Hallett 2005 Eden Valley Riesling

ACT Chief Minister’s Award for Best Riesling for the Canberra District – Kardinia 2006 Riesling

Linnaeus Award for Best Riesling from New Zealand – Konrad Sigrun 2006 Noble Riesling

German Ambassador’s Trophy for Best European Riesling – Wineconsale GmbH Schloss Vollrads Riesling Kabinett halbtrocken 2005

South African High Commission Trophy for Best South African Award – No award

Hyatt National Riesling Challenge Trophy for Best North American Riesling – Atwater Estate 2005 Reserve Riesling

Seeley International


New Holland


Rowe Scientific


WID 2017