Daily Wine News

««« return to Daily Wine News index


Yalumba wins four trophies at Limestone Coast Wine Show

The Yalumba Wine Company’s 2006 Menzies ‘The Cigar’ Cabernet Sauvignon has collected four trophies at the 2009 Limestone Coast Wine Show.

After being named best Cabernet Sauvignon and best red wine, the prized drop went on to claim the Bill Redman trophy for best wine of show after two days of judging this week at the Coonawarra Hall.

The accolades earned Yalumba viticulturalist James Freckleton the major award for the night — the Arthur Hoffman trophy for viticulturalist of best wine of show.

Chairman of judges, Huon Hooke, declared the 2006 Menzies ‘The Cigar’ Cabernet Sauvignon “definitive Coonawarra Cabernet”.

“What impressed me the most was what a complete wine it was – you taste the wine, and there is nothing that it lacks,” he said.

“It has beautiful balance between bright fruit characters and more savoury complex aromas and flavours, and excellent structure with fine grain tannins running the length of the palate.”

The Coonawarra wine region took a virtual clean sweep of the trophies at last night's Caledonian-themed presentation feast at Naracoorte Town Hall, which featured past gold medal and trophy winning wines from the Limestone Coast Wine Show.

Hollick Wines’ 2006 Wrattonbully Shiraz was an exception to the rule, winning the International Judge’s Award after impressing guest United Kingdom judge Andrew Jefford with “its wonderful core of beautiful, ripe fruits and prized savoury, earthy length”.

“It’s just one of those wines I kept going back to time and time again, and every time I went back, I liked it more – it just got under my skin,” he said.

For a full list of winners, visit www.limestonecoastwine.com.au

Seeley International


New Holland


Rowe Scientific


WID 2017