Daily Wine News

««« return to Daily Wine News index


2010 Macquarie Group Sydney Royal Wine Show

Entries are now open for the 2010 Macquarie Group Sydney Royal Wine Show.

2010 is set to be another outstanding year with several exciting developments on the cards, most notably the inclusion of two new trophies.

The first is the Len Evans Perpetual Trophy awarded for the best exhibit in the Named Vineyard classes, and is named after the late Len Evans, AO OBE.

RAS Wine Committee acting chair Lyndey Milan says it’s a fitting tribute for the Wine Show’s late long standing Chairman of Judges.

“Len has been referred to as the 'godfather of the Australian wine industry' and certainly progressed the development of the Show system. We are delighted to honour his contribution in this way. Len truly is the man who put Australian wine on the international map,” said Milan.

The second trophy is The James Busby Annual Prize awarded to the winemaker of the Best Wine or Brandy exhibited by a NSW winery.

“James Busby is an overlooked and somewhat forgotten figure, but he alone can claim to be the founding father of the Australian wine industry,” said Milan.

An 1866–67 report on wines in the Agricultural Society Show in Sydney said it was from vines that Busby imported: ‘nearly, if not quite all the vines in New South Wales have been obtained and a very large share of Victorian and South Australian plants.'

NSW Minister for Primary Industries Ian Macdonald said the new Trophy was an important chance to recognize the high standard of wines produced in New South Wales. “New South Wales accounts for one third of Australia’s $5b wine industry with the majority of our wines going to export,” he said.

“We are home to nine of the Top 20 wine exporters, and proudly lay claim to some of the country’s premium and best known winegrowing regions. I strongly encourage our fantastic wine makers to submit entries so they can be considered for this title.”

Industry and Investment NSW will donate the prize of $5000 to the winner.

Chairman of Judges Iain Riggs says the RAS is looking forward to building on the success of the 2009 Wine show. “Entries for the 2009 show rose by 20%, with over 100 first time exhibitors. The show raised the bar in terms of judging standards and benchmarking excellence in the Australian wine industry and we expect 2010 to bring more of the same.

“New South Wales regions enjoyed a high quality 2009 vintage, which is sure to be reflected in some impressive entries contesting the Busby Prize in February,” said Riggs.

The RAS welcomes Ch’ng Poh Tiong as the international wine judge for the 2010 Show. Riggs explained that “Poh Tiong is a well respected wine commentator and writer based in Singapore. He is the publisher of The Wine Review, the oldest and most established wine publication in South-East Asia, Hong Kong and China, and we look forward to his arrival."

RAS President Glenn Dudley says the Macquarie Group Sydney Royal Wine Show represents a stellar history and tradition of champions from the early competitions in the 1800’s to the modern day.

“Since 1822, when the RAS was founded, we’ve been rewarding agricultural excellence. Viticulture has been a staple of our judging tradition since these early beginnings; indeed in 1826 the RAS awarded a medal to Gregory Blaxland for the ‘best sample of Australian wine'.”

Entries close Friday 16 October 2009. For further information, online applications and to download the Wine Show schedule visit www.sydneyroyalshows.com.au/wine



Beverage Info Systems

New Holland

Rowe Scientific


Canberra Int Riesling Challenge





WID 2017