Daily Wine News

««« return to Daily Wine News index


Best Australian Shiraz award category added to Hong Kong International Wine Spirit Competition

A flood of Australian Shiraz entries into the Hong Kong International Wine and Spirit Competition (Hong Kong IWSC) has prompted organisers to add a category dedicated to this much awarded varietal.

The Best Australian Shiraz category takes the total trophy categories in the Hong Kong IWSC to 31, which include varietals, stylistic, food and wine pairing, regional and best value categories.

Simon Tam, director of the Hong Kong IWSC said, “We are delighted by the terrific response from Aussie winemakers to the inaugural Hong Kong IWSC".

“Australian Shiraz is a very popular drop in Hong Kong and throughout Asia, due to the consistently high quality produced by many wineries and the great value that it offers the market,” Tam said. “We believe the dedicated award category will not only be a great recognition of the terrific range of Australian Shiraz on the market, but offer invaluable guidance to the community of Asian wine lovers who consume this variety in large quantities.”

“The competition results will be publicised extensively in Hong Kong, across Asia and internationally to the media, hospitality trade, wine lovers and wine trade.

“Additionally, to assist award winners to capitalise on their success and gain maximum business benefits, the Hong Kong IWSC has devised a targeted marketing and publicity campaign to promote award winners across Asia and internationally for the 12 months following the competition.

”As the Hong Kong IWSC will be judged by predominantly Asian judges, winners will reflect the unique taste preferences of the Asian palate, so results are expected to differ significantly from those of many other wine competitions.

“This will make the Hong Kong IWSC the premier wine voice of Asia, offering the Asian market sound guidance on the top wines available in the region,” Tan said.

Debra Meiburg MW, director of the Hong Kong IWSC said, “Over the last few weeks, due to a high number of entries and demand from different sectors of the international wine community, we have added several other categories.

“Along with the fantastic addition of the Best Australian Shiraz category, new to the line up are: a world first Asia’s Best series of awards, recognising the best wines from Thailand, Japan and India (added to the previously included China); Best Touriga Nacional and Touriga Blends; Best New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc; Best Red from South Africa; three Best New World categories – Pinot Noir, Chardonnay and Riesling; Best White Wine in Hong Kong below HK$150; and Best Red Wine in Hong Kong below HK$200,” she said.

The Hong Kong IWSC is run in partnership with the prestigious London-based International Wine & Spirit Competition (IWSC), celebrating its 40th anniversary in 2009.

Judging and the announcement of the awards will be held conjunction with the Hong Kong Trade Development Council’s Wine & Spirits Fair, held from the 4–6 November 2009. For more information visit www.asiasbestwinesandspirits.com

Seeley International


New Holland


Rowe Scientific


WID 2017