Daily Wine News

««« return to Daily Wine News index


Australian Alternative Varieties Wine Show

Chief Judge Max Allen reported an overall improvement in the quality of wines since 2002 when he last judged at the show – an indication that viticulturalists and winemakers were ‘getting it right’. The judges spent two days working their way through the record breaking number of wines Judges included Jane Faulkner from The Age; Sophie Otton of Melbourne venues The European and Supper Club; Rob Walters of Bibendum Importers; Louisa Rose of Yalumba and 2004 winner of the prestigious Women in Wine Award; and rising stars Matt Harrop of Shadowfax and Ben Glaetzer from Barossa who was nominated in 2004 for Australian Gourmet Travellers Young Winemaker of the Year award. The growing popularity of particular varietals is reflected in the numbers entered in the Show with the biggest classes including Pinot Grigio/Gris (70), Viognier (47), Sangiovese (56), Petit Verdot (32) and Tempranillo (27). Judges awarded a record number of medals with 14 gold, 30 silver and 86 bronze along with many being highly commended. The show has grown from 168 entries in 2001 and in that time has seen more and more winemakers travel to attend the seminar, tasting and awards long lunch. Saturday’s lunch aboard the Avoca Paddleboat featured wine tutorials by the guest judges who interviewed the people behind the 2004 AAVWS gold medal wines being served. These included Mark Walpole (Brown Brothers); Stephen Clarke (Adelaide University); Kathleen Quealy (T Gallant); Anthony Murphy (Trentham Estate); Bruce Chalmers (Murray Darling Collection); Mark Jamieson (Haans Wines) and Louisa Rose (Yalumba). A new award was introduced this year to encourage well-written journalism about these wines, in an effort to increase the exposure and market for alternative varieties. Guest judge for this inaugural award, noted Australian author Peter Goldsworthy, awarded the Riedel decanter for Best Journalism about Alternative Varieties to Max Allen for his article In the Know, published in the November 2005 Issue of Australian Gourmet Traveller. Trophies for the show were awarded: Best Wine of Show Sponsored by Jamesprint, Mildura Yalumba 2004 Eden Valley Viognier This wine also won Best White Wine and Best Wine in an Alternative Closure

Best Red Wine Sponsored by Mildura Grand Hotel Yalumba 2004 Tempranillo 95% & Grenache 5% & Viognier 5%

Best Italian Varietal Wine Sponsored by Chalmers Nurseries T Gallant 2005 Pinot Grigio

Best Scoring Murray Darling Region Sponsored by Murray Valley Winegrowers Inc. Joint Winners

Trentham Estate 2005 The Family' Moscato 2005 Murray Darling Collection ‘Murray Cod' Vermentino

All results are posted on the Show’s website www.aavws.com where the entry forms and AAVWS events calendar are also posted each year in May. The show was proudly sponsored by Grapegrower & Winemaker.

Seeley International


New Holland


Rowe Scientific


WID 2017