Daily Wine News

««« return to Daily Wine News index


Young Gun top 12 released

The 12 finalists consist of six winemakers from South Australia, two from Western Australia
and Tasmania respectively, and one from both Victoria and NSW/ACT. This year, among
the Final 12 are five female winemakers, including one in a husband and wife duo, blazing
the trail for women in a traditionally male dominated industry.

The wines themselves make a diverse statement of Australian wine today, from traditional
varietals such as Chardonnay, Riesling, Pinot Noir and Shiraz, through to emerging varietals
such as Gruner Veltliner and Sagrantino. There’s biodynamic and natural wines; and
reimagined wines, such as a Riesling infused with native botanicals, and a “field blend” of
ten varieties.

Judges included Nick Stock (Gourmet Traveller WINE, et al) Mike Bennie (Delicious, et al),
Emma Farrelly (State Building), Philip Rich (The Lucas Group), Pip Anderson (MONA), Josh
Elias (Alquimie), Rory Kent (Young Gun of Wine Founder and Executive Style and Josephine
Perry (Dormilona, 2016 Young Gun of Wine winner).
The Final 12 winemakers (via state) are as follows:

- Chris Carpenter from Lark Hill Biodynamic Wines, Canberra District

- Stuart Proud from Proud Primary Produce, Yarra Valley

- Peter Dredge from Meadowbank, Tasmania
- Ricky Evans from Two Tonne, Tasmania

- John Hughes from Rieslingfreak, Clare Valley
- Michael Downer from Murdoch Hill, Adelaide Hills
- Anna Hooper from Cape Jaffa, Limestone Coast
- Charlotte Hardy from Charlotte Dalton Wines, Adelaide Hills
- Rob Mack from Aphelion Wine Co., McLaren Vale
- Vanessa Altmann from Switch Organic Wine, Eden Valley

- Yoko & Andries Mostert from Brave New Wine, Great Southern
- Remi Guise from tipe.Iscariot, Margaret River

The overall winners of the various trophies will be announced at The Young Gun of Wine
Awards ceremony held on June 20, an invitation only event.

Beverage Infosystems LLC IBWSS


WID 2018