Daily Wine News

««« return to Daily Wine News index


World food and drink ‘Oscars’ announced

The cream of the world's food and drink media were recognised on 29 October 2005, when 30 gold 'Ladles' were awarded at a gala ceremony in Adelaide during Tasting Australia.

The food and drink equivalent of the movie Oscars, the World Food Media Awards presented by Wolf Blass Wines celebrated the work of recipients from around the world, with gold Ladles going to UK, USA, Australia, New Zealand, Belgium, and Canada.

Some of the evening's awards highlights were:

UK food and travel writer and photographer Alastair Hendy took out two gold Ladles. Alastair was one of the most nominated individuals in the awards' history achieving four nominations in 2005. He received Ladles for Best Food Photography and for Best Food Journalist (holding onto these titles from 2003). The latter award he shared with Australian writer, John Newton.

Other individual journalism awards went to UK writer Andrew Jefford for Best Drink Journalist and Australian John Lethlean for Best Restaurant Critic.

In addition to the Awards proper, Italian-born chef/restaurateur/author/TV Presenter Antonio Carluccio was inducted into the Tasting Australia Hall of Fame for his outstanding achievements and his continuing positive influence on the world food and drink stage. Also inducted into the Hall of Fame was Canadian-born Sydney chef/restaurateur Serge Dansereau.

Chairman of the Jury, Ian Parmenter said: “The breadth of work and professionalism of entries in the 2005 awards has been exceptional. Close to 1,000 items of work were judged by a panel of 49 respected international jurors. While most entries were from the English-speaking world, it was refreshing to see such a high level of achievement from Belgium.

“It is hoped that for future competitions, we can attract entries from an ever-expanding food and drink publishing market place,” he said, adding, “special thanks to the Awards night presenter, broadcaster and journalist Alan Saunders, for his contribution on the night and to Wolf Blass Wines for helping to make the event happen.”

The World Food Media Awards is held every two years, as part of the Tasting Australia festival.

The full list of winners is now available at www.worldfoodmediaawards.com <http://www.worldfoodmediaawards.com>

Seeley International


New Holland


Rowe Scientific


WID 2017