Daily Wine News

««« return to Daily Wine News index


Australia’s most prestigious wine show reveals trophy winners

A Western Australian winery has taken out the 2008 Jimmy Watson Memorial Trophy, the most eagerly sought after wine award in Australia from a tough field of more than 660 entries at the Royal Melbourne Wine Show.

Awarded annually to the producer of the best one-year-old dry red wine, the trophy went to Flametree Wines from the Margaret River region for its Flametree Cabernet Merlot 2007.

Winery owners Jeremy and Daniella Gordon were presented with the prestigious trophy by Jimmy Watson's grandsons, Simon and Nigel Watson, at a gala dinner hosted by the Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria (RASV) at Hilton on the Park in Melbourne.

South Australia once again dominated the Royal Melbourne Wine Show trophy winners taking out eleven of the 21 trophies awarded, with five winners hailing from Victoria, three from New South Wales and two from Western Australia.

Celebrating the State Government's 11th anniversary of involvement with the awards, the Premier's Gold Trophy for the best Victorian white wine in show, was presented by the Hon. Jacinta Allan, Minister for Regional and Rural Development to B Seppelt & Sons for its Seppelt Jaluka Chardonnay 2006, which was produced in Drumborg, Victoria. The Premier's Gold Trophy rotates between red, white and fortified wines each year.

Please find attached media release with full competition details. To complement the announcement of the results, we will provide you with some information specific to the Victorian Industry later this afternoon.

For all media inquiries, please contact Cara Norden, Wrights PR on 0421 549 408 or 03 9690 9911.

Seeley International


New Holland


Rowe Scientific


WID 2017