Daily Wine News

««« return to Daily Wine News index


Defending Red Winemaker of the Year continues winning streak

Following on from last year’s success at the International Wine Challenge — when crowned International Red Winemaker of the Year — Wirra Wirra has once again reinforced its red wine credentials, being awarded the McLaren Vale Red Trophy for the 2006 RSW Shiraz at this year’s event.

Samantha Connew, senior winemaker was delighted with the news: “This is a fantastic result for the winemaking team at Wirra Wirra. The RSW is 100% McLaren Vale shiraz and this is an excellent endorsement for the region’s ability to produce premium red wine which competes on the world stage.”

With more than 9,000 entries, from 40 different countries, the International Wine Challenge (IWC) is one of the largest, and the most respected blind tastings in the world.

Earlier in the year, the IWC’s 400 plus judges spent two weeks intensively tasting the wines to determine the medal winning wines. All gold medal winning wines are then once again tasted blind, against others in the same category by the Co-Chairmen, with the best of the best being considered for a trophy — the McLaren Vale Red Trophy is one of 100 trophies awarded.

The consistent quality of the judges and their judging has earned global respect for the IWC. Four Chairmen preside over proceedings, each of them leaders in their field, they are: Tim Atkin MW, Charles Metcalfe, Sam Harrop MW, Derek Smedley MW. For 2008 they were also joined by International Guest Co-Chairman, New Zealand’s Bob Campbell MW.

As a trophy winner, Wirra Wirra now goes forward to the final round of judging to determine the International Trophy winners, which will be announced at the IWC Gala Dinner, at the Grosvenor Hotel, Park Lane, London in September 2008.

Seeley International


New Holland



WID 2017