Daily Wine News

««« return to Daily Wine News index


Barossa Grape & Wine Association appoints first chairman

The newly formed Barossa Grape and Wine Association (BGWA) Board is pleased to announce the appointment of well respected wine industry identity Linda Bowes as its first independent chairman.

BGWA Board Member Rob Gibson said, “Linda previously was the Chief Executive Officer of the South Australian Wine Industry Association for 13 years so she brings a wealth of understanding and knowledge of both the South Australian and Australian Wine Industries and Governments to the position of independent Chair of this fledging association.”

John Hahn, BGWA Board member and Grape Barossa Chairman, agreed. “For the BWGA to achieve its primary objective of promoting Barossa Wine to the world through a collaborative enterprise of Barossa Grape Growers and Winemakers, it is critical that the Chairperson be completely independent of the Barossa wine business and yet have a good understanding of the wine industry and its relationship with community and Government.

“Linda Bowes is the ideal person to hold this position and all members of the Board are delighted that Linda has agreed to accept the Chairman role of the BGWA in its formative years.”

Ms Bowes has been appointed until the next AGM in November 2008, with a proposed 12 month extension.

The Association’s ambitious plan will be funded by the Barossa Wine Industry Fund, an annual levy on Barossa Grapegrowers and Winemakers administered by PIRSA beginning with the 2008 vintage.

The Board of the BGWA is elected equally between Barossa Grapegrowers and Barossa Winemakers. The inaugural Board members are John Curnow, Christine Canute, John Hahn and James Rosenzweig representing Barossa Grapegrowers and Rob Gibson, Doug Lehmann, James Lindner and Louisa Rose representing Wine Barossa.

The BGWA will operate from offices adjacent to the Barossa Visitor Information Centre on Murray Street in Tanunda.



Beverage Info Systems

New Holland

Rowe Scientific


Canberra Int Riesling Challenge





WID 2017