Daily Wine News

««« return to Daily Wine News index


Waiheke Island winemaker named first Young Winemaker of the Year

Patrick Newton from Mudbrick Winery was crowned as the first ever Riedel New Zealand Young Winemaker of the Year during a ceremony at the Canterbury A&P Show last night.
Newton, 32, entered the competition with a 2013 chardonnay, 2013 syrah and 2013 cabernet sauvignon and was judged the top young winemaker in New Zealand by a panel of experienced international wine judges. The judging took place in October alongside the existing International Aromatic Wine Competition, in association with the Canterbury A&P Show, and the winner has been a closely guarded secret until now.
Patrick took over as winemaker at Mudbrick Winery in 2011 after completing a Bachelor of Viticulture and Oenology at Lincoln University and spending six years honing his craft in both New Zealand and overseas.
After being presented with a Riedel decanter trophy by Canterbury A&P Association President Richard Parkes, Patrick thanked Mudbrick owners Robyn and Nicholas Jones for allowing him to put his own mark on their wines.
Chairman of judges and CEO of New Zealand Young Farmers, Terry Copeland decided to start the competition after seeing the commitment and desire for excellence amongst his Young Farmer members.
“As I put my wine judging hat on, I have realised that there is a gap in the New Zealand wine industry to recognise and celebrate our young winemakers and their ability and passion. The Riedel New Zealand Young Winemaker of the Year Competition showcases the strength of the wine industry through its top young winemakers and further encourages their pursuit of excellence.”
Young Winemaker entrants had to be under 35 years of age and all entrants entered three wines that they felt best demonstrated the scope and breadth of their winemaking ability.
There were eight other finalists this year: Alan Peters-Oswald from Nanny Goat Vineyard, Vanessa Robson from Mt Maude Vineyard, Simon Clark from Clark Estate Upper Awatere, Timothy Ovenden from HIHI, Huw Kinch from Escarpment Vineyards, Louis Vavasour from Awatere River, Nick Entwistle from Wairau River, Chloe Parkinson from Cable Bay Waiheke Island.

AB Mauri



WID 2017