Daily Wine News

««« return to Daily Wine News index


Australian winemaker named 2015 IWSC president

The International Wine and Spirit Competition (IWSC) has named Neil McGuigan, chief winemaker for McGuigan Wines, as its 2015 president.

McGuigan, a third generation Hunter Valley winemaker, was announced president at the competition’s banquet and awards night in London yesterday, marking the 46th year of the IWSC.

Prior to receiving the honour, McGuigan was recognised by the IWSC on countless occasions for excellence in winemaking, including International Winemaker of the Year in 2009, 2011 and 2012 – becoming the first winery globally to be named ‘world’s best winemaker’ three times in the competition’s history.

Commenting on the appointment, McGuigan said “it’s a great honour for the McGuigan brand, Australia and, of course, for me personally".

"In 2015, I will be an ambassador for wine globally, as well as for the IWSC – quite an honour for a guy from the Hunter Valley.

“On my travels around the globe, I will be encouraging more wine companies and countries generally to become involved in shows such as the IWSC, to ensure we are always raising the bar as an industry.

"The IWSC is about recognising quality, eliminating wine faults and embracing new wine styles — all the while celebrating excellence across the global industry.

"These are the principles of an organisation I am more than happy to represent out in the field.”

Landmark IWSC events and tastings – hosted by McGuigan – are planned throughout 2015 and will take place in London, Dusseldorf, Hong Kong and Vancouver.

“Neil McGuigan is very familiar with the IWSC and what we stand for," Ewan Lacey, IWSC general manager said.

"He started his winemaking career in 1979 at Wyndham Estate and has worked at a number of Australia's top wineries, including Briar Ridge and Rothbury Estate.

"His dedication to the industry is why he has been awarded the prestigious title of international winemaker of the year three times. I am delighted he has been named IWSC’s president for 2015”. 





New Holland


WID 2017