Daily Wine News

««« return to Daily Wine News index


New executive officer for Tasmania’s peak wine body

Experienced marketing specialist Stuart Nettlefold has been appointed as the new executive officer of Tasmania’s peak wine body, Wine Industry Tasmania Ltd (WIT).

Nettlefold replaces Allison Williams, who has held the position since the new industry body was created in late 2006. Williams recently announced her pregnancy and has subsequently resigned.

Chairman of the WIT Board, Graeme Lynch, welcomed Nettlefold’s appointment.

“Stuart has more than 20 years’ experience as a business manager and marketing consultant in the wine, tourism, hospitality and travel industries, based both here and in Victoria,” Lynch said.

“He has an MBA and gained extensive national and international experience in the wine industry, having consulted to some of Tasmania’s leading producers since he returned to Tasmania in 2004.

“We are delighted that he has agreed to join the business as our new Executive Officer.”

Nettlefold said he was looking forward to the challenges of marketing Tasmania’s premium cool-climate wines, both nationally and internationally.

“While I have worked with some growers previously on a one-on-one basis, I’m looking forward to representing the industry as a whole,” he said.

“With Tasmania’s wine production set to double in the next few years, it’s a very exciting time to be increasing my involvement in the industry.

“It is important that we continue the momentum already achieved by the new peak body, and continue to raise the profile of our premium cool-climate wines.

“Even in the short term, this year’s vintage is looking very strong, with some growers expecting a record year,” Nettlefold said.

Lynch also acknowledged the contribution of outgoing executive officer, Allison Williams.

“The business has achieved a great deal in its first year of operation and the Board acknowledges Williams’ significant contribution. We wish her well for the future.”

Nettlefold’s appointment commences on 4 February 2008.

Seeley International


New Holland


Rowe Scientific


WID 2017