Daily Wine News

««« return to Daily Wine News index


Graham Gregory Trophy awarded to Wagga wine industry leader

NSW Minister for Primary Industries Ian Macdonald announced Wagga Wagga wine industry leader and renowned researcher Professor Geoffrey Scollary as the winner of this year’s Graham Gregory trophy at a NSW Wine Awards ceremony held in late October.

Professor Scollary was director of the National Wine and Grape Industry Centre for 10 years. In 1997, he became Professor of Oenology at Charles Sturt University (CSU), a role he maintains.

“[Professor Scollary] has made a particularly significant contribution to the NSW wine industry through his research and development of a range of industry initiatives to help grow the NSW sector,” Minister Macdonald said.

“His contribution to the recognition of the National Wine and Grape Industry Centre has been enormous, and has exceeded the call of his profession,” he said.

Minister Macdonald acknowledged the important role Scollary played in the development of the Winegrowing Futures program, the culmination of two years of negotiations by centre partners, DPI, CSU and the NSW Wine Industry Association with the Grape and Wine Research and Development Corporation (GWRDC).

A notable and recent achievement of Scollary’s was the completion of a five-year, $30 million co-investment research and extension program between the National Wine and Grape Industry Centre and the GWRDC.

Professor Scollary was praised for his regular liaison with wine industry members at national, State and regional levels, and his participation in international research initiatives, development of priority setting and project planning for the industry.

The trophy is named after former NSW Agriculture Deputy Director-General, Graham Gregory, who helped pioneer the NSW wine industry.

Seeley International


New Holland



WID 2017