Daily Wine News

««« return to Daily Wine News index


Air New Zealand Wine Awards medal winners announced

The range of high quality wines being produced in New Zealand is highlighted by the results of the 2007 Air New Zealand Wine Awards.

New Zealand aromatic wines have taken the spotlight and impressed the judges at this year’s Air New Zealand Wine Awards with a total of 20 gold medals awarded to the Riesling, Pinot Gris, Gewurztraminer, Viognier and Pinot Blanc varieties.

Organised by New Zealand Winegrowers, the awards attracted 1,540 entries this year. With a new chair of judges, Steve Smith, Master of Wine (MW), and an increased international judging line-up, the highly-experienced judging panel this year awarded 83 gold medals, 227 silver medals and 364 bronze medals.

A total of six pure gold medals were also awarded in the new sustainability category. These wines will go on to vie for the prestigious Champion Sustainable Wine Trophy. In addition, 19 pure silver and 23 pure bronze medals were awarded in this category.

The Air New Zealand Wine Award elite gold medals and trophies, including Champion Wine of the Show and Champion Sustainable Wine Trophy, will be announced on Saturday, November 24, 2007.

New Zealand Winegrowers global marketing director, Chris Yorke, said the results from this year’s awards are an endorsement of New Zealand’s winemaking excellence across a range of varietals which are among the best in the world.

“It is exciting to see high-quality aromatic wines such as Riesling and Gewurztraminer continuing to be recognised. The Air New Zealand Wine Awards celebrates outstanding winemaking and the medals awarded to wines from around the country reflect the high quality of New Zealand’s many winegrowing regions.

“New Zealand is setting the standard in sustainable winemaking and to have six pure gold medals awarded in the first year of competition shows the industry’s commitment to this important area,” he said.

The medal results for the 2007 Air New Zealand Wine Awards will be available from today on www.airnzwineawards.co.nz and www.wineshow.co.nz and the trophy results will be available from midnight Saturday, 24 November, 2007.

Seeley International


New Holland


Rowe Scientific


WID 2017