Daily Wine News

««« return to Daily Wine News index


Central Victoria’s best wines recognised at Daylesford Wine Show

The Daylesford Wine Show has continued to grow in stature and importance for central Victoria’s boutique and smaller winemakers. The sixth annual Daylesford Wine Show held this weekend attracted a record entry of 247 wines up from 225 wines in 2006.

Eligible wines come from the Macedon Ranges GI and the immediate areas which adjoin it including the Heathcote, Bendigo, Ballarat and Sunbury regions. There are no literage or production qualifications, hence the Show is important to smaller producers in addition to a number of middleweight wine makers from the five regions.

The judging panel chaired by widely experienced Victorian winemaker Steve Goodwin with assistance from five other well known Victorian winemakers and wine writers Ralph Kyte Powell and Sally Gudgeon presented their findings at the presentation dinner held at The Lake House in Daylesford on Friday evening.

The Wine of the Show Award went to Ballarat producer Tomboy Hill for their home vineyard 2006 Pinot Noir.

Tomboy Hill is no newcomer to wine awards having won multiple previous medals and trophies as well as holding a five star rating accolade from James Halliday. The Tomboy Pinot is produced from only a half acre vineyard within the Ballarat metropolitan area established 23 years ago by former school teacher Ian Watson. The vineyard is unique in that it was established in the Burgundian tradition of very closely planted vines — in this instance on a one metre by one metre spacing.

Ian Watson who is assisted in the winemaking by Scott Ireland says that if the vineyard had been planted to a more traditional vine and row spacing it would be much larger in size than just half an acre.

Thirty one Pinots were entered in the class and The Tomboy also won the Mercato Trophy for the Best Pinot in the Show.

The Tomboy 2006 Pinot was described by chief judge Steve Goodwin as ‘the essence of Pinot Noir’.

Another regular winner on the show circuit Rowanston on the Track owned by John and Marilyn Frederiksen at Glenhope, which is the most northerly planted vineyard within the Macedon Ranges GI, also took out the Gold Medal as well as the Scotts Liquor Trophy for the Best White Wine other than Chardonnay for their 2006 Riesling.

Rowanston on the Track has multiple trophies and medals to its credit for the same wine and reflects the apparent suitability of the elevated areas of the Macedon Ranges to the Riesling variety.

In the Shiraz and other Blends Class the Gold Medal was awarded to Glenwillow Vineyard at Yandoit near Daylesford for their 2006 Reserve Shiraz made by well known central Victorian winemaker Matt Hunter.

The Glenwillow Shiraz also received the Farmers Arms Trophy for the Best Shiraz their 2006 Reserve Shiraz.

The Julian West Memorial Trophy for the Best Small Winery was awarded to Barbara Livingstone’s Harcourt Valley Vineyard which received a total of six silver and bronze medals for a variety of wines entered in the Show.

In his concluding remarks chief show judge Steve Goodwin said that a total of 58 wines received either silver or bronze medals with a number of wines just failing to achieve a gold medal by only one point.

“I think the conclusion the judging panel reached was that the 2005 vintage in particular in central Victoria was a challenging one for winemakers due to climatic conditions.”

Seeley International


New Holland


Rowe Scientific


WID 2017