Daily Wine News

««« return to Daily Wine News index


Hawke’s Bay wine awarded Champion Wine of Show

Chardonnay has taken top honour at this year’s Romeo Bragato Wine Awards, winning the prestigious Bragato Trophy for Champion Wine of Show.

Michael and Deb Hewitt of Hawke’s Bay produced the winning Doc’s Block Chardonnay 2006 was awarded the Bill Irwin Trophy for Chardonnay before going on to win the Bragato Trophy for Champion Wine of Show.

The winning Doc’s Block Chardonnay 2006 was produced in the Hawke’s Bay, which Chairman of judges, Larry McKenna, believes is a powerhouse of North Island wine.

“The Hawke’s Bay region is a driving force in North Island wine production and it’s fitting that the champion wine comes from this region,” he said.

With a strong presence at this year’s awards, the Nelson region was awarded four trophies including Champion Dessert Wine, Champion Gewurztraminer, Champion Pinot Gris, and Champion Sauvignon Blanc.

The 12 champion awards and nine trophies were spread across the wine growing regions of Nelson, Hawkes’s Bay, Auckland, Marlborough and Martinborough.

New Zealand Winegrowers chief executive Philip Gregan was impressed with the calibre of this year’s competition.

“The Bragato Awards are a unique opportunity to recognise the grapegrowers who work hard to produce high quality New Zealand wine,” he said.

The annual Romeo Bragato Wine Awards were announced in Auckland last Saturday at the Bragato dinner, to an audience of grape growers, viticulturalists, winemakers and industry representatives.

The unique Awards recgonise the importance of the grapegrowing process and celebrates viticultrual excellence and come at the end of the three-day, 13th annual Romeo Bragato conference, which discusses the role science, technology and innovation plays in grape growing and wine making.

Reserve Champion Wine went to Saranne James and the Tirohana Estate Pinot Noir 2006, which was also awarded the Mike Wolter Memorial Trophy for Champion Pinot Noir.

Seeley International


New Holland



WID 2017