Daily Wine News

««« return to Daily Wine News index


Nominations now open for nation’s top Riesling award

Organisers of the 2007 Canberra International Riesling Challenge are seeking nominations for the annual Wolf Blass Award, to recognise an individual or organisation that has made a major contribution to the development and promotion of Riesling.

Instigated in 2003 by Wolf Blass, International Riesling Ambassador and world leader in Riesling promotion, the Wolf Blass Award has, in 2007, for the first time been extended to include New Zealand nominees.

Ken Helm, recipient of the 2006 Wolf Blass Award and chair of the Riesling Challenge, described the honour as perhaps the greatest thrill of his more than 30 years in the wine industry.

"Making Riesling is one of the great pleasures — to be rewarded in this way, while totally unexpected, is hugely exciting."

Helm has capped a big 12 months this month by taking the top gold medal in the 2007 Riesling class at the Royal Melbourne Wine Show.

Other previous winners of the Wolf Blass Award have included Gunter Prass, Brian Barry and Wendy Stuckey, the Clare Valley Winegrowers Association and the 'Baron of the Barossa' Peter Lehmann. Peter Lehmann Wines won four trophies at the 2007 Royal Melbourne Wine Show, two of which were for their Rieslings

Nomination forms for the 2007 Wolf Blass Award are available by calling 02 6161 4222 or emailing ">r. Entries close on 21 September.

Seeley International


New Holland


Rowe Scientific


WID 2017